Monthly Wrap-Up: July 2017

Hi everyone! Time for this month’s wrap-up! I was able to finish seven books this month, so let’s get started!

32075662The first book I read in July was Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab. This book is the sequel to This Savage Song, so I don’t want to say much because of spoilers, but it was definitely as good as the first book. Even though it completely murdered me emotionally. But anyway, this is very much a very unique series which I would recommend!

31145148Next up is The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich. Oh my god, this is definitely one of the most unique books I have ever read, and one of my favorites of the year. The characters and plot were really interesting, and the premise itself was a really clever idea! So again, this is very much a book I would recommend.

32051724The third book I finished this month was The Sandcastle Empire by Kayla Olson. I will say that this book did have a lot of typical dystopia tropes, but it did have a very interesting setting. Honestly I’d say it’s less of a dystopia story and more of a survival/science fiction novel. But in short the survival aspects were interesting, so I’ll probably pick up the next book.

19547856Continuing on we have Simon vs. the Homo-Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli. I have no idea why it took me so long to read this book, especially since I loved The Upside of Unrequited earlier this year, but let’s just say I 100% absolutely loved this book! I literally read the entire thing in one day, and I’m already debating reading it again. Plus I recently found out it’s getting a movie next year, so I’m hyped!

23546843Next is technically two books that I’m going to talk about together: volumes three and four of Ms. Marvel by G. Willow Wilson and Adrian Alphona. I think these two volumes are what completely sold me on this series. I love the main character so much, the supporting characters are great, and the story is really interesting! If you want to start reading superhero comics, this is definitely a series I would recommend, especially since it doesn’t really require literal decades of backstory.

32332938Finally, the last book I finished in July was Umberland by Wendy Spinale.  This is the sequel to Everland, and I will say that I’m not really sure why, but I think I liked this one slightly more than the first one. But this is overall a very underrated series and I am planning to read the third one when it comes out!

Well that’s about it for this month’s wrap-up! I think my favorite this month was Simon vs. the Homo-Sapien’s agenda, closely followed by The Love Interest and Ms. Marvel. See you next time and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

