Monthly Wrap-Up: June 2017

Hey everyone! Time for this month’s wrap-up! I was able to finish nine books this month, so let’s get started!

30312891The first book I read this month was Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare. This is the second book in the Dark Artifices series, so I don’t want to give too much away, but I will say that it was such a great sequel, and that it completely emotionally murdered me. Like I have no idea how I’m going to wait two years for the next one! I am super excited for The Last Hours though, so there’s that to look forward to!

28818313The second book I finished in June was Iron Cast by Destiny Soria. Just saying, this book is super underrated. Like I’ve seen barely any hype for it. But I definitely think it’s a book I’d recommend, especially since I have such a thing for historical fantasy. The relationship between the two main characters was great, and I thought the magic system was really interesting (I’d probably read more books set in this world). So this was definitely a great way to kick off the month

23017947Next Up was Ms. Marvel: Generation Why by G. Willow Wilson, Adrian Alphona, and Jacob Wyatt. This is the second bind up of the Ms. Marvel comics, which I have been meaning to continue forever now, and now I definitely want to read the rest of the series. I love the main character so much, and the messages in this volume were honestly so refreshing and important. I don’t know why it took me so long to continue this, but I need to see if my library has the next one because I really want to know what happens next.

301456661The fourth book I finished in June was The Dark Prophecy by Rick Riordan. This is the second book in the Trials of Apollo series, and I just have to say that in my opinion each Rick Riordan book gets even better than the last. I don’t want to say much because spoilers but it was definitely one of my favorites of the month!

25814105The next few books I read were Volumes 2-4 of Giant Days by John Allison, Lissa Treiman, Max Sarin, and Whitney Cougar. I found this series on a recommendation shelf at the library where I work, and I am so glad I discovered it! This is my first time reading a non-superhero comic series, and it was honestly so much fun. This is definitely a series to pick up if you get a chance!

319319411Next up is Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia. I will say that this book has a content warning for mental illness, but it also has to be one of my favorite books of the year! I read the entire thing in three days, and it was honestly amazing. The main character was really well written, I absolutely loved the main relationship, the mental illness content was handled so well, and I need the webcomic in the book to become a real thing because I would definitely read it.

22020592Finally, the last book I read in June was A Tyranny of Petticoats, edited by Jessica Spotswood. This book is an anthology of short stories about female characters throughout history, and it has to be one of my all time favorite story anthologies. I could honestly read full novels about some of these characters, and I definitely want to check out some of the authors I had never read before as well!

That’s about it for June’s wrap-up, see you next time and thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

