Monthly Wrap-Up: May 2017

Hey everyone! Time for this month’s wrap up! I was able to read six books in May so let’s get started!

27969081The first book I finished in May was Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova. I’d been meaning to read this book for a while and I ended up really enjoying it! The story was really interesting, the amount of diversity was great, and I really loved the main romance. There was also some LGBT+ content I didn’t know about going in so that’s definitely a plus!

331319Next up is An American Tragedy by Theodore Dreiser. This book was required reading for my American Realism and Naturalism class, and while it was interesting I probably wouldn’t have read it on my own. I’ve had to read a lot of books for school about men in the 20’s or 30’s who ruin their own lives, and this was kind of another example of that. But if you’re into literature this may be something you’d enjoy.

23766634The third book I read in May was A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas. This is the third book in the A Court of Thorns and Roses trilogy, so I don’t want to say much to avoid spoilers, but I definitely thought it was a good conclusion to the series. There were a few loose ends, but I think they’ll probably be addressed in the spin off series, which I am definitely looking forward to. I will also say that the same warnings about mature content that apply to the rest of the series are definitely at play here, but if you’re looking for a good fantasy series this is definitely one I’d recommend.

30653853Next up was The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli. This is the first book I’ve read by this author, and I’ll definitely have to check out her other novel because I absolutely loved this one! The characters were really relatable, the sheer amount of diversity was incredible, and all of the main relationships were entirely adorable! Plus this book actually takes place somewhat close to where I live, so that was really cool! So anyway, this is definitely something to add to my favorite contemporaries!

23093359Finally, the last two books I read In May I’m going to talk about together: Volumes One and Two of The Wicked and the Divine by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matt Wilson, and Clayton Cowles. I’ve owned the first volume of this comic series for the longest time now, and I finally got around to reading and now, oh my god, I am completely addicted. Like I literally checked out the second volume at the library as soon as I saw it and am currently looking for the third. I will warn you that the story is kind of dark and I would definitely recommend looking up the premise before reading it, but it’s definitely a very intriguing series that I will certainly continue!

Well that’s about it for this month’s wrap-up! I think my favorites this month were probably The Upside of Unrequited, closely followed by A Court of Wings and Ruin and Labyrinth Lost. See you next time and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

