Monthly Wrap-Up: April 2017

Hey everyone! Time for another monthly wrap-up. I was able to finish seven books this month, so let’s get started!

30256105The first book I read this past month was The Last of August by Brittany Cavallaro. This is the second book in the Charlotte Holmes series, and while I think I liked the first one slightly more I really enjoyed this one! Also, just saying, this series is extremely underrated.

33643994The next book I finished in April was Daughter of the Pirate King by Trisha Levenseller. I really liked the main character and world of this book, but I’m not positive of whether I like the way I see the romance going. The premise was really cool though, and I’ll definitely pick up the next one!

77956The third book I read in April was one for my American Southern Literature class: Lancelot by Walker Percy. If I’m going to be honest, this book was very well written, but it has to be one of the most disturbing things I’ve ever read. Like I recognize that it’s a good book, but it honestly made me deeply uncomfortable. If you’re into darker literature you may like it, but the characters were just too unsympathetic for me.

37415Next up was Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston. I also read this for American Southern Literature, and I think it may be one of the first books I read for school this semester that I genuinely enjoyed, just for the sake of finally reading about a sympathetic character. The story and main character were genuinely interesting though, and I’m glad I finally got to reading this.

18513581The next book I read in April was Young Avengers Vol. 2: Alternative Culture by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Kate Brown, and Matthew Wilson. I read the first volume of this series at least a year ago and absolutely loved it, and I finally just now acquired the next two volumes! I will say that I think I liked the first volume slightly more, but I love the characters and was super excited to finally get to this!

18513591Next was Young Avengers Vol. 3: Mike Drop at the Center of the Universe by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Kate Brown, and Matthew Wilson. Obviously this is the third and final volume of the Young Avengers comic series, and I think it was a really good conclusion. I do feel like I was probably supposed to read some older volumes first (before this run) to understand who some newer characters were, but I really liked the story, relationships, and main characters. Plus this has to be one of the most diverse series I have ever read, especially in terms of LGBT+ representation!

30037861Finally the last book I finished in April was Silver Stars by Michael Grant. This is the second book in the Front Lines series, and again I do think I liked the first one more but this one was really good. This is another seriously underrated (and super well researched) series, and I do hope it gets more traction over time. I will warn you all that the series can be really brutal in terms of historically accurate violence and language, but none of it is in bad taste. Overall, I would probably recommend this series.

Well that’s about it for this month’s wrap-up! I think my favorite this month was the Young Avengers series, closely followed by The Last of August and Silver Stars. Thanks for reading and see you next time!

Leave a Reply

