Monthly Wrap-Up: February 2017

Hey Everyone! Once again, I must apologize for the long hiatus. I have one heck of a workload this semester and it has consumed all the time I have for non-school related writing. And pretty much non-school related reading too to be honest. Hence my monthly wrap-up for February being posted in the middle of March. Anyway, I was able to read three books for fun this month, as well as three (technically five) books for my classes, so let’s get started!

28818314The first book I finished in February was Roseblood by A.G Howard. This book is a modern day retelling of The Phantom of the Opera, and to be honest, it was very cheesy, but really fun to read. The romance was kind of insta-love-ish, but the overall concept was fun, and the print book is beautiful!

18007564Next up was The Martian by Andy Wier. I’ve been meaning to read this book forever, and I think it may be one of my favorites of the year so far! The story was super addictive (and surprisingly hilarious), and I’m honestly surprised I didn’t read it sooner!

210126The next book is the first book I read for class: A Hazard of New Fortunes by William Dean Howells. If I’m going to be honest, this book was pretty tedious to read, but it was probably the least disturbing thing I’ve read for school so far this year so at least there’s that!

12220Next up is technically three books I read for class in one: A collection of plays by Tennessee Williams. This book contains three plays: Battle of Angels, The Glass Menagerie, and A Streetcar Named Desire. I don’t think I would have read these plays if I didn’t have to for school, but I am overall glad I read them.

208977The next book I read last month was Maggie, A Girl of the Streets by Stephen Crane. I also read this for my American realism and naturalism class, and I have to say, this is probably one of the most depressing books I’ve ever read. It was well written, and really important but I really wouldn’t suggest it as something fun to read

  1. 16096824Finally, the last book I read in February was A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. It took me way too long to finally read this book, especially since I really liked it! The world of the novel was really cool, and I found myself really loving the main character! I will say that this series definitely does not belong in the YA section content-wise, but I’m looking forward to reading the next book. Especially since I’ve heard great things about it!

Well that’s about it for everything I read in February! I think my favorite this month was probably A Court of Thorns and Roses, closely followed by The Martian. Thanks for reading and see you next time!

 

Leave a Reply

