Monthly Wrap-Up: January 2017

Hello everyone! Time for the first Monthly Wrap-Up of 2017! I was able to finish six books this month (most of which I received as Christmas gifts), so let’s get started!

29236299The first book I read this year was Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. This book is the sequel to illuminae and it is absolutely AMAZING. Once the story picked up I just could not stop reading and I may even have liked it more than the first book in the series (and I loved the first book)! If you haven’t read this series, I definitely recommend checking it out!

29358487Next up we have Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs. This book of short stories acts as a companion to the Miss Peregrine’s  Home for Peculiar Children series, and I really loved reading it. Each story was really unique and intriguing, and it was really clever how a lot of aspects of the book tied back to the original series! Also, between the cover and the illustrations, this print book has to be one of the most beautiful I’ve ever seen!

25164304The next book I finished in January was Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst. I’d heard a lot of good things about this book going in, and I definitely think it lived up to the hype. The setting and fantasy elements were really interesting, and everything about the main paring was beautifully written and developed! Not to mention it was great to see LGBTQA+ representation in a YA novel!

29363501The fourth book I finished this month was Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay by J.K Rowling. I had already seen (and completely loved) the Fantastic Beasts movie before I received this book for Christmas, so I was really excited to read the script of the film. And it was really fun to read, especially since I caught a couple of things I missed in the movie! Also, can we talk about this print book, because everything about the cover and illustrations is thematic and beautiful!

20983366Next up we have Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken, the second and final book in the Passenger duology. I just recently finished this book, and I think I may have even liked it more than the first book! The story was really interesting and exciting, there were a lot of really cool new elements and characters, and without spoiling anything, I loved how the series ended! (I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned this, but I think Alexandra Bracken may write some of the best endings I’ve ever read). If you want to start a new series, this may be a good one to look into.

26114529Finally, the last book I finished in January was Literary Starbucks by Nora Anderson Katz, Wilson Isaac Josephson, and Jill Madeline Poskanzer. Based on a Tumblr blog, this book contains a series of passages about how classic authors and literary characters would order at Starbucks, and as an English Major I found it entirely hilarious! If you’re looking for a good source of bookish humor, this is definitely a good one to pick up.

Well that’s about it for this month’s wrap-up! I think my favorite book of January was definitely Gemina, followed closely by Tales of the Peculiar and Wayfarer. Thanks for reading and see you next time!

Leave a Reply

