Book Talk- Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

29236299

I don’t know if I’ve ever talked about the Illuminae files series on this blog before, but I think I should start by saying I absolutely loved the first book in the series. The characters are really easy to get attached to, the plot was crazy intense, and the format has to be one of the coolest things I’ve ever seen. So when the second book, Gemina came out I was super hyped to read it. And now that I’ve read the book I think I liked it even more than the original! I was literally so invested that it got to a point that it was about 2:00 in the morning and I could not stop reading. That’s how amazing this book was.

WARNING! SPOILERS FOR GEMINA BEYOND THIS POINT!!!

So normally I think I’m pretty good at spotting plot twists. Like I can usually tell when someone was evil all along or when a there’s a death fake out, stuff like that. Well in this book I literally did not see anything coming. Like when we found out Jackson was working with the mercenaries the whole time I honestly had to stop reading for a minute because I was freaking out. And oh my god, every time the book made us think someone died I 100% believed it. And it was so stressful, but so amazingly done.

And then there were the characters. I really liked the main two characters in Illuminae, but I felt so much for everyone in this book, especially Hanna, because she was such an amazing character. She was so smart and a total bada**  and I loved her so much. And then Nik’s backstory was just so sad, and I felt so much for him through the whole book, and Ella may be one of the first fifteen year olds I’ve read that talks like a fifteen year old  (or at least how my friends and I talked back then) and she was such a great side character.

In terms of the story, it did take me a little while to get interested in the beginning, but once the action set in I could not stop reading at all. It got to the point that I literally read straight through the last 200 pages in bed at one in the morning because I absolutely had to know what was going to happen. And I have to say, the last third was probably my favorite part of the book. I did not see the whole multiverse thing coming and it was such a cool idea, especially with the way it was done in the book with the parallel events on each page. The formatting is one of the coolest things about this book, and I think that was easily one of the best moments. The whole thing was just amazing.

So overall Gemina was an incredible way to kick off my reading this year! (And I need the third book as soon as possible!) See you next time and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

