Monthly Wrap-Up: November 2016

Hey everyone! It’s time for the monthly wrap-up again! I was able to read six books in November, so let’s get started!

Vassa In The Night.jpg

The first book I read in November was Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter. This book is a retelling of the Russian fairy tale Vassalissa the Beautiful, and it has to be one of the most unique books I’ve read all year.  I think a really good word to describe the book would be “atmospheric” (I can see it making a really good graphic novel), and the writing, world, and characters were all amazingly written! This is a great fantasy, and dfinitely one of my favorites of 2016!

27904311Next up is The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan. This book is the second in the Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard series, so I don’t want to say much because spoilers, but just know that it was an absolutely amazing sequel . There were great new characters, and I just have to say, as of this book this is probably my second favorite Rick Roridan series after the original Percy Jackson books. Plus it’s one of the most diverse series I’ve ever read, and that’s a major plus!

543102The third book I read in November was Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. I read this for my Romantic Literature class for college (it’s actually the second time I’ve read this book for school), and overall I should probably say that my feelings are mixed. Like what this book did for fiction is really cool, and Mary Shelley is incredible (she started a genre at age fifteen. I was writing bad fanfiction when I was fifteen), but I really can’t sympathize with Frankenstein, and I just spend the book feeling bad for the creature. But I can definatley get why its an important book, and the author was absolutely amazing!

21414439Next up is Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. I had been meaning to read this book all year, and I definitely enjoyed it. I will say that it took a while to figure out some of the worldbuilding, but the relationship between the main characters was great (we don’t get enough female friendship in books) and the magic was really intriguing. I’ll definitely check out the sequel.

186924311Fifth we have Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon. This is another book I’ve been meaning to read forever, and it may just be one of my all time favorite contemporaries. The story follows a girl with a rare disease that makes her allergic to pretty much the entire world (which is one of the most unique contemporary premises I’ve heard in a long time) and the entire thing was amazing. I was really invested in the story, the main character had great development, and the romance was adorable! November was a great reading month, and this is another book I absolutely recommend.

50398Finally, the last book I read in November was Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen. This is another book I read for my Romantic Lit. class, and probably one of my favorite books that I’ve read for school. I’ve been meaning to finally read a Jane Austen novel for years, and I’ll probably try to read another within the next year since I really liked the writing style!

Well that’s about it for this month! My favorite of this month was probably Vassa in the Night, closely followed by The Hammer of Thor and Everything Everything. Thanks for reading and see you next time!

Leave a Reply

