Monthly Wrap-Up: October 2016

Hey everyone! Time for the (once again pretty late) monthly wrap-up! I was able to read six books in October, so let’s get started!

22299763First off we have Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo. This book is the sequel to Six of Crows (one of my favorite books of all time), and it honestly has to be one of the best sequels, and one of the best series endings I have ever read. The story is incredibly well written and emotional and intense, and I love all of the characters so much,  I could seriously read so many books about them! Overall, this may be one of the best books I’ve read all year!

448873Next up we have The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner. I read this book (the first in The Queen’s Thief Series at the recommendation of one of my roommates, and I really enjoyed it! The story follows a thief enlisted to steal an ancient artifact, and honestly that’s about all I can say without spoiling anything. Just know that this series is super well written, has amazing world building, and that I’d definitely recommend it!

40158The next three books I read in October (which I am going to bundle together since they are all from one series and I want to avoid spoilers) are The Queen of Attolia,

401591The King of Attolia, and

6527841A Conspiracy of Kings by Megan Whalen Taylor. These are the second, third, and fourth books in The Queen’s Thief series, and, take my word on it, the entire series is amazing. I think The Queen of Attolia may be my favorite in the series, but the whole thing is great and I definitely recommend them!

6462Finally, the last book I read this past month was His Excellency: George Washington by Joseph J. Ellis. This book is a biography of George Washington and I actually found it pretty interesting. To be honest, I read this for my history class, and I feel like I’d enjoy it much more if I hadn’t been required to write a paper on it, but I am overall glad that I read it. I find history to be really fascinating, and I think I learned some cool stuff!

Well that’s about it for this month’s wrap up! I think my favorite this month was Crooked Kingdom, followed closely by The Queen of Attolia and The Thief. Thanks for reading and see you next time!

Leave a Reply

