Book Talk- Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

282605871

WARNING! SPOILERS FOR EMPIRE OF STORMS AND THE THRONE OF GLASS SERIES BEYOND THIS POINT!!!

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken +and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those who don’t.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

So look who’s super late on posting about this book…I actually finished Empire of Storms almost a month ago and oh my god it was amazing. Since it is the fifth book in a series I can’t say much else because spoilers, but just know that it was a solid edition to the series.

One quick thing before we get to the spoiler section, if you haven’t read The Assassin’s Blade yet, you need to get on that. It’s pretty much required reading for Queen of Shadows on, and it will honestly improve your reading experience so much.

WARNING! SPOILERS FOR EMPIRE OF STORMS AND THE THRONE OF GLASS SERIES BEYOND THIS POINT!!!

I just have to say real quick, I feel like a solid quarter of the people in this world are some kind of lost royalty. Like between the reveal with Manon and Ansel coming back it just seems like half the people in this world have to reclaim their kingdom or something.

So I know I’ve been saying this since book three, but I love the stuff with the witches so much. There’s just something so cool about their whole world and the Wyvrens and we’re seeing Manon and the Thirteen slowly becoming more human. Also,I don’t know why, but there are no words for how much I love Asterin Blackbeak. Like she’s one of my favorite characters in the series. When the grandmother finally dies she had better get that kill.

On another note, I was apprehensive about the plot with Elide and Lorican at first but I ended up really liking it. Elide is just this great total Slytherin of a character, and it was really interesting to see their relationship develop over the book.

So while we’re talking about relationships let’s just talk about that one part where HOLY CRAP THEY WERE  HAVING SEX ON THE BEACH. THIS ISN’T YA ANYMORE. And like I know I’m a mature adult and I can handle things but we saw EVERYTHING in that scene and holy crap it was amazing but I was not prepared.

I can't dragon.gif

I do absolutely love the relationship between Aelin and Rowan though. This actually has to be one of the only YA series I’ve read where the main character doesn’t end up with her first love interest, and that’s honestly so refreshing. Especially since their interactions are so amazingly written.

I’m also super excited that Lysandra and Aideon are together, because looking at stuff on the internet shipping them made me ship it so hard, and I absolutely love them together.

Speaking of Lysandra, can we just talk about that sea dragon scene? Because Lysandra SLAYs. Literally. The whole scene was so intense and epic, and I was so afraid that she died towards the end and oh god I was so relieved.

So anyway, oh my god THE ENDING. THAT IS NOT WHAT I WANTED to happen. Ok, for one I was so confused when we started getting hints that Rowan and Aelin got married, like I thought I missed something. But then I figured out what was going on, and I would have been so happy but then ALL THAT CRAP HAPPENED

anigif_enhanced-buzz-25391-1374298396-21

Like BLEEPING MAEVE. Holy crap, to be honest I always kind of forget abot Maeve until l she shows up  but she needs to go away. Because everything was going so well, and then she showed up and ruined everything. Everyone had better be reunited quickly in the next book, because I don’t think I can handle much more of this.

So overall, I’d say Empire of Storms was a pretty solid continuation to the series. I think Queen of Shadows is probably still my favorite so far, but this is probably my second favorite overall. We got a lot of good plot and character development, and while it also kills me, the series keeps getting better!

Well that’s about it for my thoughts on Empire of Storms, see you next time and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

