Monthly Recommendations-October 2016

Hello everyone! I am so sorry I’ve been posting so little lately. It’s that time of year again that college decides to descend into complete insanity so most of my writing time has gone into schoolwork. But it’s also the month Halloween, so I figured this month I would recommend some books that are either creepy, dark, or Halloween-ish in general. Lets get started!

7728889The first book I have to recommend this month is something I’m actually pretty sure that I’ve recommended before but also definitely belongs on this list: The Diviners by Libba Bray. In a nutshell,  this book can be summarized as teenagers with psychic abilities in the 1920’s vs. a supernatural serial killer, and it honestly has to be one of my favorite books of all time. The whole thing is an amazing balance of atmospheric creepiness, characters, and a great period setting, and while I will warn you that is can get really dark, it’s definitely worth the read!

474073Next up we have something that I consider a bit of a modern children’s classic: Coraline by Neil Gaiman. This book follows a girl who after moving into a new house, finds a door that leads to a world that is exactly like her own with an “other”, more interesting version of her family. However, when it becomes apparent that her “other” mother want her to stay in their world forever, she realizes that she needs to find a way to escape and free others trapped in the world. This is one of the most unique books I have ever read, and has a great eerie feel to it without being to disturbing. Plus it’s a really quick read and has a great movie adaptation!

2536134The third book I have to recommend is Gone by Michael Grant. This book takes place in a town where suddenly everyone over the age of fifteen disappears, and everyone left is trapped under a giant dome of unknown origin. When some of the trapped children and teenagers start developing strange abilities, they realize they have to figure out how to survive, especially since you disappear when you turn 15. Be warned, this book (and the rest of the six book series) gets seriously messed up, but it also has amazing characters, great diversity, and one of the most intense stories I have ever read.

9460487Next up we have Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. In this book, the main character, after experiencing a tragedy, travels to Wales to learn about his family history and finds Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, a home for children with strange abilities. I don’t want to say much more because spoilers, but just know that this is one of the weirdest, and also most unique, trilogies I have ever read! And it ha s some really cool and atmospheric pictures throughout the entire book!

479658Finally we have The Haunting of Granite Falls by Eva Ibbotson.This is actually a children’s book by one of my all-time favorite authors, and one of my favorite childhood books! The story fool a group of ghosts who haunt a medieval Scottish castle. When the castle is bought by a millionaire they follow it to America and begin haunting the movie theatre next door. I don’t want to spoil much else, but just know that this book is super cute, and a great ghost story for people who don’t like really scary horror (like myself)!

Well that’s about it for this month’s recommendations! Thanks for reading and see you next time!

 

Leave a Reply

