Monthly Wrap-Up: September 2016

\So I am super late on getting this out this time around (thanks time-sucking vortex of college), but I read some great books in September! Fall is the time when the new books in a lot of the series I read come out, so a few of these are continuations, but I also started some entirely new series! I was able to read six books this month, so let’s get started!

25558608giThe first book I finished in September was A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir. This book is the sequel to An Ember In the Ashes (one of my favorite books from last year), so I can’t say much because spoilers, but just know that not only did I love this as much as the first one, but also that it completely ripped out my heart (because it was amazing, but god was it painful. I will warn you all that this series can get really brutally violent, but it also has incredibly well done characters and writing!

28260587

Next up we have Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas. This is the seventh book in the Throne of Glass series, so again, spoilers, but just know that this book was also super amazing. It was definitely more on the adult side of young adult, but it also progressed the story so well, and I am not prepared at all for the next book (even though I need it immediately!)

26036077The third book I finished in September was My Hero Academia Vol, 1 by Kohei Horikoshi. I first learned about this series when we watched the first few episodes of the anime version at a anime viewing at my college, and since I wanted to know what happened next in the story I figured I’d pick up the manga! This was actually my first manga series in a long time, and I can see myself getting invested! The main character is incredibly endearing, and I got attached immediately, so I’ll probably check out the rest of the series!

27418111Next up is My Hero Academia, Vol. 2 by Kohei Horikoshi. I actually read this one right after reading the first volume so they kind of blurred together into one, but I definitely enjoyed it! This whole series is really fun and creative (there’s a lot of cool stuff with different superpowers that are really unique), and this volume introduces a lot of interesting new characters, so I can see myself picking up the next one sometime!

29904219The fourth book from September was Not Your Sidekick by C.B Lee. Just saying, this has to be one of the most diverse books I’ve ever seen, and I am so excited about that! Story wise it was really fun, had some really great characters, and had a really cool take on the superhero genre (and the main pairing was adorable)! I’ll definitely read the next book in the series when it comes out next year.

23207027Finally we have Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake. I will admit that it took me a while to get into this book, but once I got invested, I really wanted to know what was going to happen. There was a lot of good in depth character development and world building (I definitely want to see more of this world and its fantasy elements), and I can tell that the next book is going to be a really great and intense story. (Plus the cover has to be one of my favorites of the year!)

Well that’s about it for this month’s wrap-up! See you next time and thanks for reading!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

