Book Talk- Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

626F6F78747265616D=7474747474727576707<7473

HARRY POTTER!!!!!! I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this, but I am a huge fan of anything and everything that has to do with the Harry Potter series. I’m one of the people who grew up on the Harry Potter books, so when I found out there was going to be a release of the script for Cursed Child, I was literally screaming from the hype! And now that I’ve read the play, I will say that while I don’t think it was amazing as the earlier books, I definitely enjoyed it! I’ve actually been hearing a lot of mixed reviews on what people thought of the play, so I’m just going to share a few of my opinions on the book.

Okay, first off I just have to say that Albus Potter and Scorpius Malfoy are in love and no one can convince me otherwise. I mean, they completely relied on each other through the whole book, and their dynamic was so great, and if they had to spend years in a terrible future with someone they would stay with each other and oh god, how can you not see the potential in this ship. Like I know we had the whole thing with Scorpius asking Rose out at the end, and while I do genuinely like Rose as a character and have nothing against those who ship the pairing, I just feel like Scorpius and Albus have more chemistry.

tumblr_inline_n5fva0PhRA1roistu

On that note though…SCORPIUS MALFOY. Oh my god, what a complete sweetheart of a character. Scorpius was, at least for me, the best part of the book. It was so great to see a Slytherin character who was so sweet and optimistic and so adorably nerdy instead of just being automatically evil. The whole play actually addressed so many things about the way Slytherins are viewed both in and out of the book, and it was really refreshing to see positive Slytherin characters.

Also on the plus side we have Hermione, who was amazing in this play. I mean she’s the bleeping Minister for Magic! And that is just absolutely perfect.

And then we have the plot. Is it just me or is the world on a time travel kick lately. Like it seems like we’ve been seeing more and more of it lately and this book is another example. It was really interesting to see all of the alternate timelines though, and the timeline where Voldemort won was actually one of the best written parts of the book, even if it completely emotionally destroyed me. The whole thing was so creepy and awful, but it also gave a really interesting perspective on what could have happened if the original books had gone differently. Also, the scene where alternate timeline Ron and Hermione died together literally made me sob my eyes out, and I still don’t think i’m quite over it.

83f202cf-6c95-476a-94cd-1713fbdbb085.gif

I should say though that there were some aspects of the play that I was kind of iffy on. For one, I did have some problems with Harry’s characterization. I feel like given his childhood he’d be a much better father than how he’s depicted in the play. and of course we have to address the thing I feel like I’ve seen the most division about is the whole thing with Voldemort and  Bellatrix Lestrange having a child. And to be honest, while I think it was done mostly well in the play, I could not figure out when during the span of the original series Bellatrix was supposed to be pregnant. Like I know this has become a common point of discussion, but if there was one aspect of the play that could definitely use clarification, this was it.

To be honest, The whole Voldemort’s daughter thing is really fanfic-y concept, but in my opinion, it could have been worse. Overall I did think the play was well written, and there were a lot of positive aspects to balance out the weirder ones.

Also, as for something I don’t even know how to place: that scene with The Trolley Witch????? Just the Trolley Witch??????

accurate

Anyway, as a theatre nerd, I definitely need to see this thing live. Just so I can see how they pull off the magic, especially in certain scenes, like the one in the library, or especially the one with the Trolley Witch. Even though I live on the other side of the world from London and thus seeing the show is rather hard to do.

So overall, while I don’t think Cursed Child was as strong as the original books, there were a lot of interesting story elements and good characters, and it was fun to read, especially as someone who grew up on the Harry Potter series. So, while everyone is entitled to their own opinion on the book, I overall really enjoyed the play.

That’s about it for my thoughts on Harry Potter and the Cursed Child! See you next time and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

