Monthly Wrap-Up: July 2016

Hello everyone! It’s that time again! I was able to finish six books in July (including an entire series I’ve been meaning to read for a long time), so let’s get started!

22840421

The first book I finished in July was My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows. I am so glad that I received this book in a subscription box, because it honestly has to be one of my favorites of the year. The book depicts a fantasy retelling of English Tutor history, specifically focusing on the story of Lady Jane Grey, and the entire thing is just one of the most unique and hilarious things I have ever read, especially in terms of the authors’ writing style. If you’re looking for a fun read, this is definitely one I’d recommend.

26200563

Next up is something I was especially excited to read: Hamilton: The Revolution by Lin-Manuel Miranda and Jeremy McCarter. I don’t know if I have ever mentioned this, but I am a huge musical theatre fan, and I especially love Hamilton, so I was super hyped to finally acquire a copy of the Hamiltome! The book contains the full script of the show, as well as behind the scenes information and stories and loads of photos, and I found it to be really interesting to read. If you’re a Hamilton fan, I’d recommend checking this out (plus the print book itself is absolutely beautiful)!

17675462

Third we have the first book in a series I have been meaning to read forever: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. This is the first book out of four in The Raven Cycle, and I initially knew some stuff about the characters and absolutely nothing about the story going in, and I actually think that’s a great way to read this series. And speaking of which, I completely loved the first book. The magical elements of the series are something I really haven’t seen before in other books, and I got completely invested in the characters so quickly. Overall, I think this was a really solid start to the series.

17347389

The next book I read in July was The Dream Theives by Maggie Stiefvater. This is the second book in The Raven Cycle, and going with my trend of loving the middle instalments of series, I really liked this one. The second book gave a lot of insight on characters that didn’t get as much focus in the first, and while I don’t want to spoil anything, I found one of the fantasy elements to be really cool and unique. While I will say that I liked the first book slightly more, this was very much a great continuation.

17378508

Next up we have Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater, the third book in The Raven Cycle. Since this is the third book in a series I don’t want to say much because spoilers, but I definitely loved this book as much as the others in the series, especially in terms of the relationships that developed between some of the characters. This book is around when I realized The Raven Cycle is now up with some of my favorite series.

17378527

Finally, the last book I finished in July was the final book in The Raven Cycle: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater. Oh my god, this book completely emotionally destroyed me. Again, I can’t say much since it was the last book in the series, but just know thcat the whole thing was resolved so well in regards to what was happening in the series, and all of the character interactions were amazing, and oh god, it absolutely killed me with feelings, but it was such a good final book. This one is probably my second favorite in the series after book one, and one of my favorite series conclusions in general.

Well that’s about it for the books I read in July! My favorite book this month was probably My Lady Jane, followed closely by The Raven Boys and The Raven King. See you next time and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

