Monthly Wrap-Up: June 2016

Hello everyone! Another month has ended and it’s time for the wrap-up! I finished six books this month, so lets get started!

18743370

The first book I read this month was Front Lines by Michael Grant. I had been meaning to read this book all year and it definitely lived up to the hype! The story follows the experiences of three female soldiers during an alternate version of World War II in which woman were allowed to join the military, and all three main characters, as well as pretty much all of the side characters were super distinct and well developed. The premise in itself was also really interesting and well written, and I was completely invested through the entire story. It may even be one of my favorite books so far this year!16131489

Next up we have The Last Star by Rick Yancey. This is the third and final book in The 5th Wave series, so I don’t want to say much to avoid spoilers, but I will say that it 100% emotionally destroyed me. I think it’s probably my second favorite book in the series (after the first one), and also an overall good conclusion to the series. But again, be warned, it’s definitely a tearjerker!

19351043

The third book I finished in June was something that’s been on my bookshelf far too long: Nimona by Noelle Stevenson. This graphic novel, set in a world that kind of blends a medieval setting with modern technology, follows the story of a villain, Lord Ballister Blackheart, and new shape-shifting sidekick, Nimona, and the whole book has to be one of the most unique things I have ever read. The plot, setting, and art style are all super fun and individual, the characters are all really well developed, and the story is so well written and interesting! This is definitely a book I’d recommend!

16069030

Next we have the first book in a series that I’ve been meaning to read forever: The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski. This series follows the stories of two characters: Kestrel, the daughter of a high standing general in a powerful empire, and Arin, a slave from a country conquered by the empire. After Kestrel makes an impulsive decision that binds them together, they are both entangled in a web of secrets and forbidden love. This is one of those books that is really hard to explain, but is 100% worth the read. Both Kestrel and Arin are well written and insanely easy to get attached to. If you haven’t read this series yet, it’s definitely one to check out!

20443207

Seeing as I proceeded to read the rest of The Winner’s Trilogy, the next book I read in June was The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski. This is the second book in The Winner’s Trilogy, and while I do think I liked the first one slightly more, it was definitely a solid continuation. Some great new characters were introduced, and the storyline was just as addictive as the first book, even if there were some parts that absolutely ripped my heart out.

20443235

Finally, the last book I read this month was the final book in The Winner’s Trilogy: The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski. Like the second book in the series I kind of feel like I liked the predecessors more, but it was definitely a completely amazing book! All of the loose ends were tied off, and without spoiling anything, it was a great ending to the series (which has to be among my favorite series at this point!)

Well that’s about it for this month’s wrap up! My favorite this month would probably be Front Lines, followed closely by Nimona and The Winner’s Curse. See you next time and thanks for reading! 

 

Leave a Reply

