Monthly Wrap-Up: May 2016

Hello everyone! Time for another monthly wrap-up! With the school year finally over I was able to finish seven books this month, and I think all of them were pretty great! There’s a lot to get through this month, so let’s get started!

23308084

The first book I finished in May was “The Rose and the Dagger” by Renee Ahdieh. This is the second book in “The Wrath and the Dawn” series, and since it is a sequel I don’t want to say much to avoid spoilers, but I think I may have liked it more than the first one. I do still have mixed feelings on the main paring and the love triangle-y aspects, but I did like the side characters and parings, and there was a lot more action. So overall the series was pretty good!

26252859

Next up is “The Hidden Oracle” by Rick Riordan. This is the first book in the “Trials of Apollo” series, a new spin-off/ sequel  to the “Percy Jackson” and “Heroes of Olympus” series, and it was honestly one of the most fun books I have ever read! We got to catch up with a lot of the “Percy Jackson” characters, the main character POV was super unique, and there was so much great representation! (Also, I won’t say who because spoilers, but a certain pairing became canon and I was fangirling all over my dorm apartment). So this was definitely a book I enjoyed! I also have a full book talk for it here if you want to know more of my thoughts on the book!

26074181

The third book I read in May was “The Crown” by Kiera Cass. This is the fifth and final book in “The Selection”, so again I don’t want to say much to avoid spoilers, but I definitely think it was a good conclusion to the series. There are some things I definitely want novellas about, the main character definitely showed development and I absolutely loved a lot of the characters! “The Selection” books are pretty much my ultimate guilty pleasure, and I think this was a overall solid end to the series.

23438288

Next up was “Flawed” by Cecelia Ahern. This book takes place in a future society where anyone who acts out is branded as “Flawed” and are viewed as second-class citizens. After making an impulsive decision that goes against the laws, Celestine, the main character, is put on trial to potentially be marked as “Flawed”, permanently changing her life, and possibly the entire society. I do have to give a quick warning that this book is full of secondhand embarrassment and a few clichés, but it is also really well written. You really feel for the main character through the whole book, and a lot of the characters (especially Celestine’s family) are very well developed. I’ll probably check out the rest of the series when it comes out.

25063781

The fifth book I read in May was “Summer Days and Summer Nights”, edited by Stephanie Perkins and featuring twelve different authors. This book is a collection of twelve Summer themed short love stories, and you honestly feel all of the emotions while reading them.So many of the stories were absolutely adorable, and actual tears were shed over a few (especially the one by Veronica Roth. If I had to choose, my top three stories were probably the ones by Stephanie Perkins, Libba Bray, and Jon Skovron, but I absolutely loved the entire anthology. If you’re looking for a nice Summer read, this is definitely one I’d recommend.

26085520

Next up we have “Everland” by Wendy Spinale. This is a sort of  steampunk retelling of “Peter Pan” set in a version of London which has been destroyed by war and a disease that only children and teenagers can survive. After the main character’s younger sister is abducted , she sets out to find her with the assistance of a mysterious boy named Pete and his group of “Lost Boys”, all while being pursued by the enemy’s captain and his army of “Marauders”. I will say that there were some clichés in this book, but overall it was pretty creative. I really like the authors take on a lot of classic “Peter Pan” characters (especially Tinker Bell and Captain Hook), and I definitely want to learn more about some of the others. I’m not 100% sure that this is the start to a series, but if it is I’ll definitely pick up the next one.

26365537

Finally, the last book I finished in May was something I’ve been meaning to read for the longest time: “Kindred Spirits” by Rainbow Rowell. This short novella follows a girl, Elena,  who intends to wait in line for four days to see the new “Star Wars” movie, only to learn that there are only two other people in line. I don’t know if I have ever mentioned how much I absolutely love Rainbow Rowell books, but this book was no exception. The characters were all super unique and relatable, everything about the days waiting in line was this great mix of hilarity and genuine emotion, and the whole thing was just so much fun to read! And in only around sixty pages! So anyway, if you can’t tell, this is certainly a book I’d recommend to anyone! (Especially “Star Wars” fans!)

Well that’s about it for this month’s wrap up! It’s really hard to choose a favorite for this month, but I think i’m going to go with “Kindred Spirits”, followed closely by “The Hidden Oracle” and “Summer Days and Summer Nights”. Thanks for reading and see you next time!

 

Leave a Reply

