Book Talk- “Lady Midnight” by Cassandra Clare

25494343

Hey everyone! It has been far too long since I last posted a book talk (college consumes far too much of my reading/writing time) and as usual, so much time has passed between when I finished this book and wrote this discussion! But there is honestly so much to say because this book was amazing! Probably one of my favorites so far this year!

So I don’t know if I’ve already mentioned this, but I am a huge fan of Cassandra Clare’s Shadowhunter books. I’ve read and obsessed over all the books in the “Mortal Instruments” and “Infernal Devices” series (plus the novellas), and because of the author’s tumblr, I have been attached to the characters from “The Dark Artifices” for years now. So obviously “Lady Midnight” was one of my most anticipated books this year, and it definitely lived up to the hype!

I will say real fast that you should definitely read both the “Mortal Instruments” and “Infernal Devices” series before starting “The Dark Artifices”. “Lady Midnight” takes place five years after the events of “Mortal Instruments”, and there are major spoilers for both of the earlier series. Plus they’re both great series, and there’s some great references to them in “Lady Midnight” (and some references to the “Welcome to Shadowhunter Academy” novellas.)

WARNING! SPOILERS FOR “LADY MIDNIGHT” AND “THE SHADOWHUNTER CHRONICLES” BEYOND THIS POINT”

So anyway, let’s get to the specific stuff about the book. For one, I think it’s really cool that we started out this series with Shadowhunter characters. In the first two series we kind of started out with an outsider character who is brought into the Shadowhunter world and we get a whole introduction to everything, so it was neat that we just went straight into things from a Shadowhunter perspective.

On the topic of the characters, oh my god, I already love everyone. I just love the family relationship between all the Blackthorn siblings, and the friendship between Cristina and Emma, and oh my god, Emma and Julian. These two are my new tragic OTP. They both just worked so well as individual characters, with Emma being so snarky and determined all the time and Julian being so devoted to his siblings and everything I just loved them so much

Mark was such an interesting character. I really hope we get to know more about him and his backstory with the Wild Hunt and everything. I hope we get to know more about Cristina too, because I really liked her as well.

I will say though that I don’t really know what to do about with that weird Kieran-Mark-Cristina-Perfect Diego love square thing. I honestly have no idea what I ship here. Like originally I was seeing chemistry between Mark and Cristina, but then we see Kieran and I can see that working out really well too, especially with more background information (like in a novella or something. And then Diego showed up and I got even more conflicted and now I have absolutely no idea what to ship.

ships

Speaking of things I definitely do ship though, Kit and Ty need to be a thing. I mean every time Kit saw him he was like “wow, he’s so pretty” and then Ty was sitting outside his door and everything, there were honestly so many signs. Plus their ship name could be Kitty! If that’s not a sign that they’re meant to be together I don’t know what is.

7

On a similar note… HOLY CRAP KIT IS A HERONDALE. HOLY CRAP. HE’S THE FREAKING LOST HERONDALE. I honestly did not see that coming at all, but I am so interested in seeing where it goes in the rest of the series. Also there was so much Jem and Tessa in this book, and that made me so happy (especially seeing Jem reunited with his cat again!)

So anyway, I don’t want to bore you all with my ranting about 700 pages worth of book., so let’s talk about that ending. Oh my god, I did not realize that Malcom was behind everything until right before the characters did. And then I was literally so frustrated because I liked him at first! But then everything went to insanity and it was just like OH MY GOD LEAVE OCTAVIAN ALONE and the last battle scene was so intense but also so well written.

But then we have the whole thing about the parabati curse! It was really cool that we got all this new information about how the whole parabati relationship works, but oh my god, WHY CAN’T SHADOWHUNTERS EVER JUST TELL EACHOTHER THINGS?!?!?! I mean I can see why Emma didn’t want to tell Julian and decided to fake a relationship with Mark (even though it caused me excessive emotional pain, but ten Mark was all like “Why lie?” and everything is just going to get even more painful and I just cannot with these fictional characters.

frustrated Merida

And then that epilogue! When Annabel came back to life and everything! Oh my god how am I supposed to wait a whole year for the next book!

Anyway, overall “Lady Midnight” was a super good start to a new series. I’m emotionally attached all of the characters, I was invested in the plot the whole way through, and I have so many questions that need to be answered in the rest of the series! This definitely has to be one of my favorite books this year, and I can’t wait to see what happens in the next one. Thanks for reading, and see you next time!

Leave a Reply

