Monthly Wrap-Up: March 2016

It’s that time again! I am still so surprised at how much free reading I’ve been able to do lately (especially during the school year! I was able to finish eight books this month (five novels and five graphic novels), so let’s get started!

209833621

The first book I finished this month was something I had been really excited to read: Passenger” by Alexandra Bracken. This book can sort of be described as a treasure hunt through different points in time, and I definitely can say I enjoyed reading it! I really got into the story, and I really loved the relationship between the main characters, but I think my favorite part was the book’s take on time travel. It was really unique and interesting, and I’m looking forward to seeing more of it in the second book! (Plus that cover is absolutely beautiful!)

254676981

Next up we have “The Love that Split the World” by Emily Green. I think this book would best fall under the description of “magical realism”. The story follows a girl named Natalie who starts seeing strange things (like a different version of her hometown or an apparition who tells her stories from her Native American heritage), and to be honest, it did get a little confusing towards the end. But overall it had a really cool and unique premise, a great romantic aspect, and a super well written story. If you’re in to magical realism type stuff, I definitely recommend it! (Also, look at that gorgeous cover!)

17824752

The next book I read in March was the first of the graphic novels: “Young Avengers Vol. 1: Style > Substance” by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, and Mike Norton. This is a compilation of the first five issues of the “Young Avengers” series, and oh my god, I need to read the rest as soon as possible. I have this huge thing for teenage superhero teams, so I suspected I would get really into this, and I was so right. I absolutely love all the characters, I already have an OTP, and the s, tory was really fun! Altogether, this was a great way to start getting into reading comics!

208980191

Next up we have another first volume in a comic series: Ms. Marvel, Vol. 1: No Normal”, by G. Willow Wilson and Adrian Alphona. Here we have another series that I definitely have to continue! The story follows a girl named Kamala, who after being caught in a strange mist on the way back from a party and then develops shape-shifting abilities, and altogether it was all really fun! The main character was super relatable, it was really cool how her Muslim culture was incorporated into the storyline, and the action and art style were all great! This is another series that I can definitely see myself getting into!

25494343

Now we have something that I have been waiting for for the longest time, “Lady Midnight” by Cassandra Clare! “Lady Midnight” is the first book in “The Dark Artifices” series, and oh my god, it  was so good! I loved all the characters, the plot was amazing, and oh my god, I have no idea what to ship (even though I do have a couple of OTPs)! I will say real fast that for those who are new to the Shadowhunter books you should definitely read “The Mortal Instruments” and “The Infernal Devices” series first, but this was honestly such a good start to a series, and I need the rest of the books as soon as possible! (Also, hopefully I’ll have a book talk up for it soon!)

8493612

The next book of March was another graphic novel: “iZombie, Vol. 1: Dead to the World”. Just a quick heads up, this comic series has very little to do with the tv show aside from the premise, but it was still really fun, and had some really interesting concepts and great characters! The story follows a zombie named Gwen, who, in order to retain her humanity must eat a brain once a month, after which she gets memories and personality traits from the deceased person, which she uses to complete their unfinished business. This is definitely another series I need to continue. The way that stuff like zombies and vampires were explained in this universe were really cool, and I loved all the characters!

20814989

Next up is the second book in a series that I really should have read by now: “Half Wild” by Sally Green. I read the first book in the “Half Life Trilogy” forever ago, and I have no idea what took me so long to finally read it, but now that I have I am definitely invested in the series! I will warn you that these books can get really violent and messed up (I had to stop reading a couple of times since I’m really squeamish) but the world building was great, the storyline moved along well overall, and there are two particular characters that I ship so bleeping hard. If you ask me, this series is seriously underrated, and it’s definitely something I would recommend if you’re looking for a darker fantasy series!

217931821

Finally, the last book I finished in March was “Starflight” by Melissa Landers. This science fiction story follows two characters who, while traveling on a high end spacecraft, are framed for a crime on Earth and end up traveling with a group of space pirates. I think the best word to describe this book is “cute”. I mean, I could see some plot points coming from a mile away, and I could immediately tell who was going to end up together, but the whole book was just really fun! I really liked the developing relationship between the two main characters,  I’d definitely read more on the side characters, and some of the scenes were just really fun to read! This book is a great if you’re looking for a good, light science fiction read! (Plus it has another awesome cover! This has honestly been the month of amazing covers!)

Well that’s about it for everything I read in March! “Lady Midnight” definitely has to be my favorite book of the month, followed closely by “Young Avengers”, “Passenger”, and “Half Wild”! Thanks for reading and see you next time!

Leave a Reply

