Book Talk- “The 5th Wave” by Rick Yancy

16101128

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother-or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

Finished: January 15, 2016

So here we have yet another series that has been out for forever that has taken me so long to finally read. I have been meaning to finally start “The 5th Wave” since I heard about it a couple of years ago, and now that I read it, I definitely recommend it! On that note, let’s get started!

WARNING! SPOILERS FOR “THE FIFTH WAVE”  BEYOND THIS POINT!

So we start out with Cassie as our protagonist, and I definitely liked her as a narrator. We have all of this entirely horrible stuff going on through the whole book, but she’s so sarcastic the whole time, and it kind of balances out all the darkness really well. The character just had this great voice through the whole thing, and it really made you want to see her win for once. Which was especially painful since this poor girl could not catch a freaking break. Honestly, you just wanted to see her find her brother, but terrible things kept happening, and everything was messed up and painful, but at the same time I was just completely invested and needed to know what was going to happen.

Going off of that, I’m just going to give a quick disclaimer: this crap is DARK. Like so dark to the point that I had to take breaks sometimes because it could be so depressing. But it was definitely dark and messed up in a way that was done well, like instead of just being depressing for shock factor it was more in a realistic for the situation way. But still, it’s not exactly what I would call a fun light read.

So anyway, I’m a solid way through the book, and I get to part two, and I’m thinking it’s just going to be one of those places where books are divided based on major events in the story, but then I turn the page and it’s like “WOAH PERSPECTIVE CHANGE”. I have to admit, I honestly had no idea that there were multiple perspectives in this book. Like I before I started, I thought it was all from Cassie’s POV, and it took a minute to register. Actually, before I read the series, all I really knew was that it was about a girl looking for her brother after alien invasion apocalypse, and that somewhere along the line she meets a hot guy named Evan. I knew nothing about the soldier plot, and it’s a solid half of the book.

With that said, I definitely got at least equally invested in everything going on with the Ben plotline as I did with the Cassie plotline. Like again, it was terribly sad and messed up with the dead bodies and the fact that they were training young children as soldiers and everything, but we were also getting all of these hints about the Others, and I was kind of piecing information together through the whole thing, so overall it was super interesting. I actually started getting suspicious when Vosch was telling Ben about killing the humans at the camp, like what if these people were the others, and they’re getting these kids to kill for them, because that would be so messed up. And then when it turned out that was exactly what was going on I was just like “I sort of saw it coming” but also “holy crap that’s a good plot twist”.

tumblr_n546vzXakh1sqwsfoo3_250

We also had that great parallel through the whole book where both Cassie and Ben were completely determined to protect Sammy, but because of this I was so concerned through the whole book that Sam was going to die. I’ve just read so many books at this point where the innocent younger sibling type character is killed off to motivate the main character, and it murders my heart every time, so through the whole thing I was just so concerned that he was going to die in some horrible way. So yeah, I was super relieved when that didn’t happen.

Anyway, getting back to the Cassie plot, we have the whole thing with Evan. I have to admit, I do feel like the relationship between Cassie and Evan was kind of insta-love-ish, but given their situation it’s pretty excusable. Plus all of that super-intense stuff happens after she realizes that he’s one of the Others and it was altogether really well done, so I did find myself shipping it in the end.

tumblr_mckk8vuRQ51ry9hgd.gif

My favorite part of the book was probably the entire end sequence with Cassie, Ben, and Sammy escaping from Camp Heaven. The whole thing was insanely intense and stressful, and I was so worried that someone was going to die (to the point that I was making frequent audible freaked-out noises at the book), but then they got away and there was one of those semi-cliff-hanger endings where it feels resolved even though it’s definitely open for a sequel, and altogether I was just 100% completely invested in what was going to happen to the characters.

Also, I completely refused to believe that Evan was dead. I swear by a firm “no body, no proof” rule when it comes to all forms of fiction, and with two books left in the series, this rule definitely seemed to apply.

So overall, I can definitely say that I highly recommend “The 5th Wave”. It definitely has to be one of the darkest books I ever read (I seriously needed a buffer book after reading it), but it also had me completely invested in what was going to happen to all of the characters through the entire book, and it was really well written, especially in regards to the first person POV. It may have taken me far to long to pick up (and even longer to finally write this book talk), but I am so glad that I finally read it!

Well that’s about it for my thoughts on “The 5th Wave”! See you next time and thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

