Birthday Book Haul!

book haul 001

Hey everyone! Seeing as I just celebrated by 20th birthday, I have acquired a lot of print books, so I figured it’s time for another book haul! I have nine books to show to you all today, so let’s get started!

23437156

The first  of these books is something I did not get for my birthday, but instead impulse bought on a trip to Barnes and Noble with my roommates: “Six of Crows” by Leigh Bardugo. I read this last month, and oh my god, it was AMAZING. Honestly, it has to be one of my all time favorite books. The book is set in the same universe as the “Gtisha Trilogy” (although you can read it without having read the series) and follows this amazing group of characters on a heist, and the whole thing is this great mix of action, snark, and incredibly well written character development. If you haven’t read it yet, I definitely recommend it!

20983362

Next up is another book from the Barnes and Noble trip Passenger” by Alexandra Bracken. I just finished this book, and I definitely enjoyed it. The story follows a girl named Etta who learns that she is a “traveler”, a person who can go through passages in time, and then is sent on a sort of treasure hunt through different time periods. It has pirates, it’s a really cool take on time travel , it has a really great romance, and I’m definitely looking forward to the sequel! (Also, look at that cover. That has to be one of my all-time favorite covers!)

25467698

The third book is something I received in a subscription box : “The Love that Split the World” by Emily Green. I  think I would describe it as a sort of magical realism story about a girl named Natalie who can see things that shouldn’t be there (like a different version of her hometown or an apparition named “Grandmother” who would tell her stories as a child), and is trying to figure out why she can see these things. I am currently reading this book, and it’s pretty good so far!

 

20814989

Now we’re on to the books  I actually got for my birthday, the first of which being: “Half Wild” by Sally Green. “Half Wild” is the second book in the “Half Bad Trilogy”, which I started forever ago, and I figured I should finally start the second book. The series is set in a version of modern day Europe in which there are two warring groups of “good” and “evil” witches, and the main character is not only a mix of the two, but the son of the world’s most notorious evil witch. The series has a very interesting premise, so I’m interested in seeing where it goes in the second book.

18743370

Next up is one of two books I received from my cousin as birthday gifts: “Front Lines” by Michael Grant. This book is on my most anticipated books of the year list and I’m definitely looking forward to reading it! The book takes place in an alternate history in which women were allowed to fight in combat in World War II, which is a really interesting premise, so I’ll definitely be moving this towards the top of my TBR! (Also, can we talk about how great all of these covers are, oh my god.)

 

21793182

The other book I received from my cousin is “Starflight” by Melissa Landers. From what I know the story follows two characters who, while intending to travel on a high end spaceship, become framed for a crime on Earth and end up traveling on a ship with space pirates. Honestly, you had me at space pirates. In all seriousness though, this book sounds really fun and interesting, and I can’t wait to read it!

17824752

Next up are the first volumes in a few different comic book series, starting with: “Young Avengers Vol. 1: Style > Substance” by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, and Mike Norton. I am a huge fan of superhero based movies and tv shows, so I have been meaning to get into comic books for a seriously long time. And seeing as I am complete trash for teenage superhero teams, I figured “Young Avengers”  was a good place to start! From what I know the series follows a team of teenage superheroes in the Marvel universe ( some of whom are related to or worked with the Avengers), and I’ve heard a lot of great things about it online, so I’m super hyped to start the series!

20898019

The second comic compilation I received was another one which I have heard great things about from the internet: Ms. Marvel, Vol. 1: No Normal”, by G. Willow Wilson and Adrian Alphona. Like I said, I have heard so much hype for this series, so I figured it would be another good series for getting into comics! From what I’ve heard the story is about a girl named Kamala who somehow develops shapeshifting abilities, which she then uses to become a superhero. It sounds really fun, and I love a good superhero series with a female lead, so I can definitely see myself getting into this series!

8493612

And finally, we have one last comic compilation: “iZombie, Vol. 1: Dead to the World” by Chris Robertson and Mike Alfred. I am a huge fan of the “IZombie” tv show, and even though I’m pretty sure this entirely different, it still has such a cool premise. The series takes place in a universe where zombies exist and can function normally, but in order to retain their memories they have to eat a human brain once a month, and in the process take on memories and personality traits of the dead person. Specifically, the story focuses on a zombie named Gwen who uses the memories from the brains to complete the dead person’s unfinished business, including solving murders. I have been meaning to start this series for the longest time, so I can’t wait to finally read it!

Well that’s about it for my birthday book haul! Thanks for reading and see you next time!

 

Leave a Reply

