Monthly Wrap-Up: February 2016

Happy Leap Day! I am honestly so surprised at how much reading I have been able to do this month! Usually the time-sucking vortex of college tends to consume all my free reading time, but so far this semester I’ve been able to cover a lot of books (even if I stay up way too late on school nights to read them). And this is especially great because I was able to read so many amazing books this month! I was able to read six books this month, so let’s get started!

13206900

 

The first book I finished this month is actually a carry over from January: “Winter” by Marissa Meyer. “Winter” is the fourth and final book in the “Lunar Chronicles” series, and seeing as it last in a series I don’t want to say much for the sake of avoiding spoilers, but just know that I absolutely LOVED it! It was a great conclusion to the series, it tied off all of the loose ends, I was invested through the whole thing, and honestly, I think it might be one of the best final books in a series I have ever read. There’s not much else to say aside from if you haven’t read “The Lunar Chronicles” you need to get on that, because they are amazing.

 

8909152

Next up is something that I have been meaning to read for the longest time: “Attachments” by Rainbow Rowell. I am a huge fan of Rainbow Rowell’s writing, so I have no idea what took me so long to read this, but now I can finally say that it was a wonderfully adorable book! The story follows two women, Beth and Jennifer, who work in an newspaper office and use e-mails to talk about what’s going on in their lives while they’re at work. Meanwhile, a man named Lincoln is hired to screen the newspaper’s employee’s e-mails for professionalism, but he finds himself getting invested in Beth and Jennifer’s conversations, and even starts falling in love with Beth. The story is actually a lot cuter than it sounds, and like Rainbow Rowell’s other novels, the main characters are super relatable (and this is coming from someone who usually takes a really long time to get into books with adult characters). If you’re looking for a nice light read with some romance aspects, this is definitely one I’d recommend.

16131484

The third book I finished this month was “The Infinite Sea” by Rick Yancy. This is the second book in “The 5th Wave” series, which I started last month, and in all honestly, I did like the first one more. This was a really interesting book, and we did get a lot of insight on some of the more minor characters from the first one, but I did really miss some of the POV’s from “The 5th Wave” that didn’t show up as much. With that said, the last portion of the book was crazy intense (and left me completely emotionally destroyed), and I’ll definitely pick up the third book when it comes out. I’m really interested in seeing what happens in the last book.

25689074

The next book from February was “Stars Above” by Marissa Meyer. This book is a collection of nine “Lunar Chronicles” novellas, and let’s just say that most of them can be summarized either by “EVERYONE YOU LOVE HAD A TERRIBLE CHILDHOOD” to “OH MY GOD. THIS IS SO ADORABLE. I LOVE EVERYTHING.” Going off of that, most of the novellas were prequels focusing on the backstory of various characters from the series, and we got a lot of really interesting (and often incredibly heartbreaking. Special mention to the Cress novella for nearly making me cry.) background information for the series. My favorite of the novellas would definitely have to be the last one, which took place after “Winter”, because it seriously has to be the most adorable thing I’ve ever read!

26594092

Next we have a book that has definitely become one of my favorite stand alones: “Trick” by Natalia Jaster. This book takes place in a sort of fantasy world where there are four kingdoms based around the four seasons, and the story follows the heir of one of these kingdoms, Princess Briar. During an annual meeting of the kingdom’s leaders, Briar meets Poet, the Spring kingdom’s court jester, who is hiding a huge secret that she is determined to uncover. I have so many good things to say about this book. The world building was incredibly detailed, there was so much great representation of different sexualities, and oh my god, the romance between the main characters was unbelievably beautiful. I will warn you that this is definitely on the mature end of YA, but if you’re looking for a light, romantic read with super good characters and themes, this book is perfect.

23437156

Finally, the last book I finished in the month of February was Six of Crows” by Leigh Bardugo. Oh. My. God. There are no words for how much I bleeping loved this book! I honestly loved absolutely everything about this book: the story, the writing, and oh god, the characters, I completely love all of them! For those who don’t know, “Six of Crows” is a novel set in Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha universe (you can read this one without reading the Grisha Trilogy) focused on a group of six characters who form a crew to pull off a potentially deadly heist, and honestly, I don’t think any explanation I could give in a short paragraph could do this book justice. Just know that it is this incredible combination of great action, hilariously sarcastic humor, a great story, and absolutely amazing characters that you will get so attached to. I know I say this a lot, but this i definitely has to be one of my favorite books of all time!

Well that’s all the books I read in February! My favorite this month definitely has to be “Six of Crows”, followed closely by “Winter”! Thanks for reading, and see you next time!

Leave a Reply

