Book Talk- Winter by Marissa Meyer (The Lunar Chronicles #4)

13206900

Finished: 2/4/16

WARNING! SPOILERS FOR “THE LUNAR CHRONICLES” SERIES BEYOND THIS POINT!

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

HELLO EVERYONE. WELCOME TO THE LAND OF BOOK WITHDRAWL HELL. I HAVE FINISHED “THE LUNAR CHRONICLES” AND NOW I HAVE NO IDEA HOW I AM SUPPOSED TO MOVE ON WITH MY LIFE.

Okay, so I know I say this every time I discover another book series, but this honestly has to be one of my new favorite series ever! And “Winter” in particular seriously has to be one of the greatest series conclusions that I have ever read. Every loose end was completed, everything got a resolution, and overall it was an amazing way to end the series. Maybe even too amazing, because I have no idea how I’m going to get over this.

Anyway, seeing as this is the fourth and final book in a series, there’s not much more I can say without getting into spoilers so….

WARNING! SPOILERS FOR “WINTER” AND “THE LUNAR CHRONICLES” BEYOND THIS POINT!!!

So we open on Winter and Jacin, and I was actually kind of surprised by how fast I got attatched to them. I wasn’t super invested in either one of them when they were introduced in “Cress”, but once we learned more about them and their story and their relationship I really started to care about what was going to happen to them which turned out to lead to a lot of emotional pain later.

Especially since we get to a certain point where Levana orders him to kill Winter and I suddenly see it coming that OH CRAP JACIN’S THE HUNTSMAN.

I can't dragon.gif

But then we get that scene where he helps Winter and Scarlet escape and oh my god it was so cool and intense, and then there was this beautiful reunion scene between Scarlet and Wolf but Cress stayed behind and you could see how much that was effecting Thorne and oh god I am too invested in these characters.

Speaking of being overly invested in these characters…WOLF

WOLF

LEAVE MY POOR WOLF ALONE HE DID NOTHING TO DESERVE THIS!!!

Seriously though, this book was just like an 820 page pile of “let’s horribly torture Wolf”. I mean there was that beautiful, perfect, amazing scene where Wolf and Scarlet were finally reunited, but then he had to watch his mother be killed right after finding her, and then he got completely turned into one of the wolf operative things, and everything was so horrible and painful, and oh my god, this fictional character did nothing wrong and this is too much emotional pain.

And then, on a similar note, CINDER GOES THROUGH SO MUCH CRAP. During that one part where the thaumaturges were killing people in the town and Wolf, Scarlet, Thorne, and Iko were  surrounding her so she wouldn’t expose herself I was so close to completely losing it. And then there was that whole scene after she and Wolf were captured where she had to see Adri and Pearl again and she was put on trial and threw herself into the lake and nearly drowned, and then  there was pretty much everything that happened during the climax and oh my god, I’m just spending the whole book thinking someone give this poor girl a break.

ENOUGH

AND THAT’S NOT EVEN GETTING INTO WHAT HAPPENED WITH CRESS AND THORNE. I was freaking out so hard every time they were separated, because you could just tell Thorne was so in love with her and I needed to see them as a couple darn it. But then there was the whole part where they infiltrate the coronation and he finally says he loves her and oh my god it was beautiful! My OTP was finally together,  and everything was so amazingly perfect!

fangirling Veronica

 BUT THEN Thorne is captured and Cress is left all alone to carry out the plan, and then Levana was using Thorne against Cinder and then SHE FREAKING MADE HIM STAB CRESS and I literally gasped loudly in my dorm room and oh god, I am so relieved everyone made it out mostly okay but it was all so freaking painful and I was freaking out so bad.

And then we have poor Kai having to deal with Levana through the whole book. Oh my god, during the whole wedding scene, I didn’t think he was going to have to go all the way through with getting married, like I thought it was going to be interrupted or something. And then when Kai stabbed Levana, I thought it was all a fantasy or something. So the whole time I’m having this whole realization of we’re actually going through with this and oh my god Levana leave Kai alone. Leave freaking EVERYONE alone!!!

And on top of that through the whole book there’s Iko constantly getting hurt even though she just got that humanoid body, and Winter being infected with Letmosis and nearly dying, and Jacin just trying to protect Winter the whole time and you know what, LET’S JUST SAY THAT A GOOD PORTION OF THIS BOOK WAS INTENSELY EMOTIONALLY PAINFUL FOR EVERYONE.

tumblr_ltmrinylw01qde5al

But still, even if it was emotionally painful, it was so intensely good, like it actually got to a point where the action was pretty much non-stop. There were so many moments where you’d think, ok, this has to be like a major climatic scene BUT THEN IT WOULD GET WORSE. And this happened SO MANY TIMES. Like we get to the trial scene where Cinder escapes the throne room, and you think “ok, it can’t get too much worse from here”, but then it gets so much worse.

Like we get to that scene near the end where Cinder confronts Levana but she’s controlling Thorne. Oh my god I didn’t think things could get any worse from there but then stuff started going even more wrong and Levana was controlling people AND THEN SHE MADE THORNE STAB CRESS. AND I WAS SCREAMING. AND EVERYTHING WAS GOING TO HELL. AND LEVANA SAYS SHE’S GOING TO SURRENDER AND CINDER BELIEVES HER FOR SOME REASON AND THEN LEVANA FREAKING STABS HER AND THE CHAPTER ENDS AND we go to Scarlet talking to Emilie about the farm.

accurate.gif

So yeah, that transition was a little odd, but from there everything was so freaking perfect All of my ships were together, and everything just got even better from there. That scene with the cake before the coronation has to be one of my favorite things ever at this point, because honestly, all the characters I love had survived and they were all together and a series I was extremely invested in had a mainly happy ending and I just loved every second of it!

its so beautiful

Also, I just have to say that the last chapter has to have been one of my all-time favorite endings to a series. I just loved everything about that last scene with Cinder and Kai. There was the whole thing with her deciding to turn Luna’s government into a democracy, and the hint that they might get married eventually, and oh my god when he takes out the cyborg foot it was such a good parallel to the glass slipper and it brought the whole thing full circle and I don’t think I could have asked for a better ending to this amazing series

So that’s about it for my thought on the “Lunar Chronicles” series! If it’s not obvious by now I have become entirely obsessed with these books, even to the point that I’d rank them among my all-time favorite series! Honestly, I have no idea how to conclude other than to say I have absolutely no idea how I’m going to get over this one and move on with my life, because there are no words for how much I loved these books. Thanks for reading and see you next time!

 

Leave a Reply

