Book Talk- Cress by Marissa Meyer (The Lunar Chronicles #3)

13206828

Finsihed: 1/10/16

WARNING! SPOILERS FOR “CRESS” and “THE LUNAR CHRONICLES” BEYOND THIS POINT

Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, who has been trapped on a satellite since childhood with only her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker; unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing stop her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only ones who can.

You know how in my book talk for Scarlet I said that I had heard that this series gets better with each book? Well that is definitely 100% true because this book was bleeping amazing. It has to be my favorite book in the series, and probably my favorite book I’ve read in this year so far.

Seeing as this is the third book in a series, there isn’t much more I can say without getting spoiler-y, so let’s get into it!

WARNING! SPOILERS FOR “CRESS” and “THE LUNAR CHRONICLES” BEYOND THIS POINT

So we start out and we’re introduced to Cress on her satellite, and only a couple chapters in I’m already thinking: oh my god, someone give this poor girl a hug. She just had such a hard life, and Sybil Mira was so awful to her, but she was so sweet and hopeful, and oh god, someone protect this precious child.

tumblr_maviv9gwhd1r5jtugo1_500

                So we also catch up with everyone from the first two books, and they communicate with Cress and go to rescue her from the satellite, and I am so ready for them to pick up Cress and become this awesome team of unique characters taking down the evil queen and fix everything. BUT THEN EVERYTHING WENT TO HELL.

I knew that rescuing Cress most likely would not go smoothly, since Rapunzel and the Prince get caught in the original fairy tale and all, but I didn’t know it would go THAT BADLY. Like first off, I was freaking out through the whole scene where Sybil came to the satellite early, because I was so worried Cress was going to get caught communicating with the Rampion. And then she did get caught and the chapter ended on a cliff hanger and oh god it was so stressful.

So then Thorne goes to get Cress, and I get why, but oh god, as soon as they sent someone who could be manipulated by Lunars I knew stuff was going to go wrong. So then when Sybil was there instead and we didn’t know what happened to Cress and all I could think was “crap CRAP CRAP.”

And oh god, then there was everything that happened on the Rampion. I literally loud gasped when Wolf was shot, and then loud whispered “no” when Scarlet was taken in my room at 2:00 AM when I was supposed to be asleep. Actually, I just felt really bad for Scarlet and Wolf through the entire freaking book. I mean, Scarlets off on Luna being horribly tortured through most of the story, and Wolf just doesn’t know how to function without Scarlet and spends a good portion of the book either on the brink of death or being controlled by Lunars, so yeah, not really a fun book for either one of them.

Anywhay, then when Sybil Mira left Cress and Thorne to die on the satellite I was freaking out so bad. Like I knew they weren’t going to die since we had the whole book left but then they crash in the desert, and Thorne sees a flash of light, and then he can’t see anything, and my mind goes “Hey, isn’t the prince blinded in the original fairy tale…”

anigif_enhanced-buzz-25391-1374298396-21.gif

                So yeah, Thorne is blinded and they’re left alone in some desert. Aren’t fairy tale parallels fun!

Meanwhile we have everything that’s going on with Cinder in Africa, and we’re formally introduced to Jacin, and I really hope that I can like him in the next book. I was starting to get attached in this one, since he seemed like this wonderfully snarky character with hidden depth and all, but then there was everything that happened in the end…I’ve heard we get a lot more on him in “Winter”, so that’s definitely something to look forward to.

Going back to Cress and Thorne, I’m going to cut straight to the chase: I SHIP IT SO HARD. They just had such a good dynamic, and you can see Thorne slowly developing this need to look out for her, and she’s already so in love with him, and I can just see this amazing slow burn relationship happening and I really hope they get together in the next book.

tumblr_inline_ncc35mf5Sc1smz501

Anyway, continuing on with the plot, when the traders were being all nice and helpful to Cress and Thorne I was starting to get kind of worried, like I have read way too many books to trust any group of overly helpful strangers, I know that characters I love can never catch a break.So of course, when they kidnapped Cress I was one part like “CALLED IT” and another part:

tumblr_n4bd5uYBLr1qcp29wo6_250

But then they took Cress to the town where Cinder is and a little part of my mind is going “WELL ISN’T THAT CONVIENT”, but mostly I’m relieved, because they were going to take her to Dr. Earland (who I 100% called was her father), and she’ll meet up with Cinder, and everything will work out, right? But then he doesn’t realize who she is and he acts like he’s going to experiment on her or something, and oh god, Cress has gone through enough in the course of one book.

But eventually we finally get the scene where they all meet up and from there the book was even more freaking amazing. Like for one Iko finally gets a humanoid body and I don’t think I have ever been happier for a fictional character in my life. And then Cinder was all like “We’re going to kidnap the emperor of the Eastern Commonwealth” and I was just like “YES”.

ofygy

So they go to enact their plan to kidnap Kai, and I am just waiting for something to go terribly wrong, but then everything was absolutely amazing. Honestly, that entire sequence is probably one of my favorite things I have ever read!

But then I did start panicking when Sybil showed up and started ruining everything, but then they got away and things went mostly well for once!

And then, we get that scene where CINDER AND KAI FINALLY GET TOGETHER! OH MY GOD LOOK AT MY BEAUTIFUL SHIP!

tumblr_inline_n5hj1rKnD31r5w6uf

So yeah, I definitely LOVED that entire ending.

We also get that scene with Scarlet and Winter, and I’ll just say, I don’t really know what to make of Winter yet. Like she seems to be on our side, but I definitely need more information on her, so there’s something to look forward to in the next book.

On that note, that’s about it for my thoughts on Cress! Thanks for reading and see you next time!

One thought on “Book Talk- Cress by Marissa Meyer (The Lunar Chronicles #3)

Leave a Reply

