Book Talk- Scarlet by Marissa Meyer (The Lunar Chronicles Book #2)

Scarlet

Finished 1/4/15

WARNING! SPOILERS FOR “THE LUNAR CHRONICLES” SERIES BEYOND THIS POINT

Cinder is back and trying to break out of prison―even though she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive if she does―in this second installment from Marissa Meyer.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother, or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana.

When I first heard of “The Lunar Chronicles” I actually thought each story was a self-contained fairy tale retelling with a completely new story and set of characters. So when I finally figured out that it was a continuing story around the time the third book came out I was really interested in seeing how all these different stories and characters I had become vaguely familiar with through the internet would all intertwine with each other. Especially since the last book ended on a bleeping cliff hanger. And now that I’ve finished the second book, I think I enjoyed it even more than the first one. I’ve heard that this is one of those series that gets better with each book, and I can definitely see that happening.

SPOILERS FOR “SCARLET” AND “THE LUNAR CHRONICLES” SERIES BEYOND THIS POINT!

So we open on a new set of characters, and I was really worried that I wouldn’t be able to get invested because I would want to know what was going on with Cinder, but I got really attached. Like we meet Scarlet, and right away you can tell she’s really headstrong and determined, and I could tell right away that I was really going to like her as a main character. And then we’re first introduced to Wolf and I’m like, “oh no, this character is the definition of “looks like he could kill you but is actually a cinnamon roll”. I am going to get so attached”.

Meanwhile, we see what’s going on with Cinder while she’s breaking out of prison and she meets Thorne, and oh my god, Captain Thorne is my new favorite thing. I honestly love him so much. He just had that kind of arrogance that’s really only endearing in fictional characters, and he sort of reminded me of Flynn Rider from “Tangled”, which is a definite plus. I also really loved how there really wasn’t any hint of a romantic relationship between Cinder and Thorne, just this really awesome platonic relationship.

It was also really great that we got to see Iko again, even though I felt so bad for her having to live as a ship. I really hope she gets a more humanoid body soon, because that would be so great, and I would be so happy for her.

While this is going on we also have the plot where Scarlet and Wolf are looking for Scarlet’s grandmother, and I honestly think I liked it just as much as the storyline with Cinder and Thorne. All the stuff with the Lunar operatives was really interesting, and it’s really cool how the two plotlines were connected really well. We get this really important stuff about how Cinder was brought to Earth and how Scarlet’s grandmother was involved, and we also learn that Scarlet’s grandfather was from Luna, meaning that she is ¼ Lunar. I don’t know if this is ever going to come up again, or if it means she has any sort of Lunar abilities, but I could see this coming up in the later books.

I will admit though that the Scarlet/Wolf romantic relationship did seem kind of insta-love-ish. I was really enjoying the whole build up and was starting to ship it, but then they mentioned that they had known each other for like a day, so I definitely wouldn’t mind seeing more development. I do ship it though, and if it was insta-love, it was done well, and I am fully invested

Meanwhile, we have a third plot with everything that’s going on with Kai, which was also a lovely trip through the land of emotional pain. You can just tell that he really wants to trust Cinder, but he has to act in the interest of the commonwealth, and then in the end when he decides to marry Levana, I was literally just screaming “KAI NO! STOP THAT YOU SELF SACRIFICING ANGEL!” I mean, I understand the decision, but that doesn’t make it any less painful, especially with Cinder’s reaction, which just absolutely ripped out my heart.

tumblr_inline_nz9vql1dAe1s9p4oc_500.gif

Anyway, skipping around again since it’s been such a long time since I finished the book in relation to when I am writing this review, let’s go back to the stuff with Scarlet and Wolf. Oh my god, When Scarlet was captured and Wolf seemed to have betrayed her I was literally freaking out so bad. I mean, I 100% knew he didn’t betray her, because A.) That’s not the way these kinds of books typically go and B.) Complete denial, so I wasn’t too worried, but it was still so freaking painful. And then there was the whole part where we thought she was speaking to her grandmother and it turned out to be Ran and there was the whole fairy tale parallel and I freaked out again. But then there was the part where Wolf helped Scarlet escape but her grandmother sacrificed herself and the Lunar Operatives were attacking everywhere, and oh god, I am too attached to these characters for this.

tumblr_inline_nt52pg0rL51rjljqx_500.gif

But then there’s this amazing moment where the two plotlines intersect and we get Cinder, Thorne, Scarlet, and Wolf all fighting together and escaping on the Rampion, and let’s just say that from this point on I am ridiculously hyped for the rest of the series. It’s definitely becoming a “group of misfits develop close relationships while saving the world” story, which is honestly one of my favorite things ever, and I could not be more excited!

tumblr_inline_nxi72pH8Ms1s0g3xb_500.gif

                So that’s about it for my barely coherent thoughts on “Scarlet”. I think I enjoyed the second book of this series even more that the first, and I’ve heard great things about the third book, so I’ll see you all later for my book talk on “Cress”! Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

