Favorite Books Read in 2015!

 

latest-happy-new-year-2016-photos

Happy new year everyone! As 2015 has come to an end, I thought I would share my favorite books of the year! Descriptions of each book are included in the links if you want to learn more about them!

To start off we have two completed series that I finished this year, starting with one that I took way too long to finally read: the “Legend Trilogy” by Marie Lu:

This series was honestly so amazing. They were really quick, fast paced reads (I finished the whole trilogy in less than a month), I got so attached to both of the protagonists and their relationship, the action scenes were amazingly well done! I should also let you guys know that there is an awesome graphic novel of this series that is super accurate to the book and matches my headcanons really well!

The next series I have to recommend is “The Darkest Minds” series by Alexandra Bracken:

Oh my god, these books have definitely become one of my all-time favorite series. It has been a long time since I got so deeply invested in a group of fictional characters, and oh god, I was so emotionally involved through the whole series. There were a couple of character deaths that completely destroyed me, I literally screamed at the book a couple of times, and the ending was honestly one of the best conclusions I have ever read. I short, I seriously recommend this series!

Next up we have my favorite contemporary novel that I read this year: “Since You’ve Been Gone” by Morgan Matson.

18189606

This book was the perfect relaxing summer read. It had a fun plot, a really cute romance, a relatable main character, and it managed to avoid a lot of the clichés that I notice in a lot of contemporaries. If you’re looking for a nice, fun book to read to recover after an intense series, this book is perfect.

Continuing on, we have a couple of new series that I started, beginning with “An Ember in the Ashes” by Sabba Tahir.

An Ember in the Ashes

This has to be one of the most intense books I have ever read. I can honestly see it making an amazing movie if it was accurate. The characters were incredibly three dimensional and well written (It’s one of those books where you just desperately want to help the main characters because horrible stuff that they don’t deserve keeps happening to them), and it makes great use of dual perspectives. It is so amazing that this is the author’s debut novel! I cannot wait for the second one to come out this year, especially after that ending!

Secondly we have the first book in the “Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard” series, “The Sword of Summer” by Rick Roridan.

a1tjj0zjgul

This is another book that was honestly so much fun to read. It really reminded me of the original “Percy Jackson” books in its style and sense of humor, and the characters were so unique and easy to get attached to (I may even already have an OTP!) I didn’t actually know much about Norse mythology before I read this, so it was really cool to learn. I seriously cannot wait to read the rest of this series.

Finally, I have a tie for my absolute favorite books of the year, because I honestly could not choose. Both of these books are so incredibly amazing, and they have definitely become some of my all-time favorite books! First off we have “Carry On” by Rainbow Rowell

enhanced-19465-1429806575-15

There are no words for how much I completely adore this book. The story was amazing, the characters were so well-developed, and I honestly have to say that the relationship between the main characters was one of the best romantic relationships I have ever read. Rainbow Rowell is one of my all-time favorite authors, and it was super cool to see her write a fantasy, especially with the characters from the fanfiction excerpts in “Fangirl”. I don’t even know how to really describe this book, just know that it is absolutely incredible and that you should definitely read it!

And closing out we have my other favorite book of 2015: “Queen of Shadows” by Sarah J. Mass

18006496

Queen of Shadows” is the fourth book in the “Throne of Glass” series, (another series that I recently discovered and absolutely loved), and oh my god, this is not just my favorite book in the series, but one of my favorite books ever. It was especially long, which meant there was time for so much character development and world building and a really amazing story with action and romance and pretty much anything you could want in a high fantasy. So many important things happened for the series and all of it was written so well and all I can say is if you haven’t read “Throne of Glass”, please get on that, because this series is so amazingly good.

Well that’s about it for my favorite books of 2015! Thanks for reading and happy new year!

 

Leave a Reply

