Christmas Book Haul!

Hey everyone! (Or at least anyone who’s still here after this insanely long unintentional hiatus). I’m finally back again! I am so sorry it’s taken so long for me to update recently, college completely consumed my life this semester, and I had literally no time for my own writing. But I am finally on Winter break, and now that the holidays have passed hopefully I’ll be able to get a lot more content out at a faster pace!

Speaking of the holidays, I got so many cool books for Christmas this year! So I figured I would do my first ever book haul on this blog to show them off! I have about eight books to share, so let’s get started!

So the first book I have to share today is actually an e-book that I bought before Christmas, and that is “Scarlet” by Marissa Meyer!

Scarlet.jpg

“Scarlet” is the second book in the “Lunar Chronicles” series, which if you’re not familiar with the series is a four-part set of futuristic fairy tale retellings set in this world with cyborgs, androids, a civilization on the moon, and a lot of other really awesome science fiction stuff. I am honestly so late to get on board with this series, but at the recommendation of pretty much the entire world, I finally picked up the first book, “Cinder”, and oh my god I absolutely loved it. I actually finished it at about 1:00 AM the night before Christmas Eve, and even though I knew I was probably about to get a bunch of books on Christmas I had to know what happened next so I ended up buying it on my Kindle! I’m a few chapters in and I’m already attached to all of the new characters, so I can tell this is going to be an interesting ride.

Continuing on, the next book I have for you all is “Cupcakes, Trinkets, and other Deadly Magic” by Meghan Ciana Doidge.

Cupcakes Trinkets and Other Deadly Magic.jpg

This one is another e-book, and I actually hadn’t even heard of it until recently. But then I learned that it was free on e-readers, and who am I to refuse a free book! This book is the first in “The Dowser Series”, and from what I know it’s about a young woman who owns a “cupcakes and trinkets” shop while also being involved in some sort of magic. It has a really interesting sounding premise, and I am trash for a good urban fantasy, so I’m pretty excited to read this!

Next up is the first book I got for Christmas: “Illuminae” by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

23395680

I have heard so many amazing things about this book, and I am so hyped to finally have a copy! “Illuminae” is the first book in a new science fiction series following these two characters who are evacuated onto different spaceships after their planet is attacked and it isn’t actually a straight up traditional narrative, but is told through stuff like interviews, reports, e-mails, diagrams, etc. It looks awesome visually, I’ve heard great things about the story, and I can tell from the first few pages that I’m going to get really invested!

Next we have something that I think looks really cool, and that is “amazing, Grace” by Roberta Gore.

Amazing Grace

Fun fact! I actually know this author! She lives in my area, and I was in a musical she directed back in my sophomore year of high school, so I was super excited to learn she had written a book! This book is about a fourteen year old girl who was kissed by an angel as a child, and as a result she has a heightened sense of empathy and can detect evil. It sounds really suspenseful and interesting, and I’m looking forward to reading it!

The next book I have for you all isn’t a novel but is “Tequila Mockingbird”, a book of literary themed cocktails.

51ghq5y52ol-_sx357_bo1204203200_

Now I personally don’t drink, but my family got this for me as a joke after I played a community member in my school theatre department’s production of “To Kill a Mockingbird”, and I can honestly say it is one of the funniest things I have ever read! It has instructions to make drinks with names like “Huckleberry Sin”, “Gin Eyre”, and “Moby Drink”, and these names alone are completely beautiful. One day I’ll have to try to make something from the non-alcoholic section (in which all the drinks are named after classic children’s books!”

The next book is something I’m extremely excited about and that is a signed edition of “Carry On” by Rainbow Rowell

enhanced-19465-1429806575-15

I read “Carry On” on my Kindle over the semester, and I am entirely serious when I say it has become one of my all-time favorite books. The story, characters, and romance are all absolutely amazing and I honestly just love it so much! So thanks to my awesome grandparents for giving me a signed copy! Hopefully I can get a book talk up for it soon!

Next up we have an absolutely beautiful book, and that is the illustrated edition of “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone”.

b2f3ea87_harrypotterjimkay-xxxlarge_2x

This book was a gift from my aunt, uncle, and cousins, and it is seriously one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen. I have loved Harry Potter as long as I can remember, so I was so excited to get this edition! The illustrations are amazing, and I actually collect copies of the first book, so this will be a great addition to the collection!

SPOILERS FOR THE DECEMBER OWLCRATE SUBSCRIPTION BOX BELOW

                The last book I have to share with you all is really cool, because It was included with one of my family Christmas presents, a subscription to a service called OwlCrate! For anyone who has never heard of OwlCrate, it is a company that mails out a themed subscription box each month with a new release YA book and some related extra items, and this month the book was “Da Vinci’s Tiger” by L.M Elliott.

24951755

                This book is a historical fiction set in the renaissance, and I think it follows a girl who becomes a muse for artists, and eventually forms a relationship with a young Leonardo Da Vinci. I haven’t read a historical novel in a while, so this looks like it will be fun!

                Well that’s about it for now! Hope you all had a great holiday and have a happy new year! Thanks for reading and see you next time!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

