Book Talk- Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Mass (Throne of Glass Book #3)

Heir of Fire

Finished: 7/21/15

SPOILERS FOR THE “THRONE OF GLASS” SERIES BEYOND THIS POINT

Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak–but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life–and her future–forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?

You know that feeling when you finish all the books that are out in a series that completely consumed your life and now you don’t know what to do with yourself anymore and you have no idea how you’re going to survive until the next book with certain things left unanswered in the last book’s cliffhanger?

Yeah, that’s pretty much me right now…

I have to start out by saying that this book was insanely good. It did take me a while to get through, since it is very long, but it is so worth the page count. I loved the new characters, got even more attached to everyone else, and got even more invested in the storyline. Of course, I desperately need to know what happens after THE GIANT PILE OF EMOTIONAL DESTRUCTION THAT WAS THE ENDING but overall this was such a good continuation of the series.

SPOILERS FOR “HEIR OF FIRE” AND THE “THRONE OF GLASS” SERIES BEYOND THIS POINT

This book can pretty much be divided into three or four different storylines, so I’ll cover each one in order of their level of emotional pain, ending with the one that devastated me the most. So first off we have the storyline with the witches and Manon. I know a lot of people didn’t like this part as much as the others, but I actually found it really interesting. I liked finding out all the stuff about the witches’ magic and the politics within their covens, and in a way they just seemed really cool and unique, even if they are mostly evil. That’s actually what I’m kind of concerned about, like are we supposed to sympathize with any of the witch characters? I know they’re supposed to be soulless, and that they’re going to be working with the king, but there was that whole thing about how witches aren’t born evil, and that they become soulless because of the way they are raised I don’t know, I just found them really cool in a really weird way.

Manon was interesting as a character too, like she starts out like the other brutal and unemotional witches, but you can slowly see her becoming more human through the book. Like she’s introduced as this merciless, heartless character, but you can tell she actually cares about the Thirteen and is starting to develop a conscience, especially after they choose their wyverns.

Speaking of the wyverns, all the stuff with Manon and Abraxos was honestly one of my favorite parts of the book. The scene where the witches are choosing their wyverns, and Abraxos is being used as the bait beast but then he completely takes down the most powerful wyvern to protect Manon was literally one of the coolest things I have ever read, and from there it’s seriously kind of like this really messed up version of “How To Train Your Dragon”. Like we see Manon and Abraxos slowly bonding with each other, and training together, and she starts developing more emotions, and it’s all just completely amazing. And I also have to say that Abraxos has become my new favorite thing. He’s just this ferocious deadly creature who loves flowers and acts like a stubborn pet, and oh my god, I need more of this precious bada** of a wyvern.

624072

Then we have the plotline with Celaena and Rowan. Oh my god, there are no words for how much I love the relationship between these two. When we’re first introduced to him he seems like he’s just completely devoted to Maeve and he’s kind of a jerk to Celaena, but then we learn about the blood oath and his backstory and he and Celaena start understanding each other and viewing each other as equals, and he helps her learn to use her magic and it’s all just this great slow-build and I just love them working off each other so much. There’s the whole part where Rowan takes care of her after she burns out on magic, and then later when Celaena gets Maeve to free him from the blood oath and he binds to her and they realize they’re compatible in that parabati-type thing and I think I may even be to the point where I ship it, at least as a really strong platonic relationship.

tumblr_inline_n5fva0PhRA1roistu

In fact, I think I may ship them more than I do either part of the original love triangle. Like originally I was kind of leaning towards Celaena/Chaol, but then there was the whole thing about how she wouldn’t be able to hurt her mate, and that’s kind of ominous after “Crown of Midnight”… And I also kind of liked Celaena and Dorian together but I don’t know if he’d be ready for another relationship after everything that happened with Scorcha…I think at this point I’m fine with whoever Celaena ends up with, especially since I absolutely love her as a character. We see her develop a lot in this book, and I’m really looking forward to seeing her come into herself as Aelin and eventually take back her kingdom. (Because that’s what’s going to happen. RIGHT.)

We also find out a lot more about Celaena’s backstory, and let me tell you, it was entirely heartbreaking. I mean at first we get stuff about her first experiences with her fire and Aedion and early interactions between Dorian and Celaena before they really knew each other (which were adorable by the way) but then she finds her parents dead, and her lady in waiting sacrifices herself for her, and she loses pretty much everything in her life at eight freaking years old. And the freaking king was behind it all. This man has been ruining everything since before this series even began, oh my god I need to see him dead. Especially after what he did to his own son, but I’ll get to that later.

So then there’s the storylines going on in Alderan. On one hand we have the stuff going on with Chaol and Aedion. I actually found myself really liking Aedion, like originally he just comes off as this horrible jerk of a person, but then he turns out to be so devoted to Aelin, and we find out he’s working with the rebels and that he and Aelin were childhood friends and through the book I got so attached. I’m actually really worried for him in “Queen of Shadows”, especially after everything that happened in the end… Honestly I just want to see an Aedion/Aelin reunion that doesn’t end tragically.

please parks and rec

I’m really worried for Chaol too, since he’s going to be considered a traitor now. You know, let’s just say I’m seriously concerned for every single character in this series, especially after that insanely painful ending.

So now let’s talk about Dorian. Excuse me for a second…

tumblr_inline_nj85x4zTJR1rrzg0n

I felt so much for Dorian throughout this entire book. There was the one scene where he found Chaol and Aedion in the tomb and realized they were hiding things from him, and the whole time he was struggling with his magic, and you can’t not feel so bad for him!

And then there was the whole thing with him and Scorcha. I was kind of neutral to their romantic relationship, like it was great that they were happy together and I loved the scenes where she helped him to control his magic, but I felt like there could have been more development to them as a paring. But that doesn’t mean I WANTED IT TO END LIKE THAT. Scorcha’s death was just so messed up, and even if she was working with the rebels, she didn’t do anything wrong! (If anything, her involvement against the king makes it more upsetting!) and Dorian had to watch his father order her execution and watch them cut her head off, and oh my god when he was screaming, and covered in her blood, I was literally tearing up.

Love-and-Other-Drugs

And then when the King was going to kill Chaol, but Dorian stopped the arrow with magic and revealed himself to his father, and the king put the collar on his own son to turn him into a valg prince right before the book ended, I WAS SO NOT OKAY. THIS IS IN NO WAY ACCEPTABLE IN THE SLIGHTEST. DORIAN HAVILLIARD, MY PRECIOUS CINNAMON ROLL, DOES NOT DESERVE THIS. OH MY GOD SOMEONE SAVE HIM ALREADY!!!! A CHARACTER WHOM I AM EXTREMELY ATTACHED TOO IS SLOWLY BEING TURNED INTO A CREATURE OF PURE EVIL AGAINST HIS WILL AND I AM SO NOT OKAY!!!

tumblr_m89fliglJz1qlqu5k

So yeah, the ending messed me up pretty bad. But other than the sheer level of emotional pain this book was amazing, and I am insanely hyped for “Queen of Shadows”. Mostly because I need to know what happens to the characters with whom I am extremely emotionally invested! I mean obviously they’re going to go after Arobynn and the Wyrdkey, and something is hopefully going to happen with one of the towers, but I have no idea what’s going on with the rest of these cliffhangers, like I have a feeling that someone major is going to die in the next one, and I really don’t want that to happen. Overall, there’s three things that I really want to see in “Queen of Shadows”:

  1. Aelin reunited with Aedion and Rowan.
  2. Some sort of victory for the good characters (taking down one of the towers or something would be nice.)
  3. My bae Dorian to be de-valgified as soon as possible. (And taken somewhere where his father can’t hurt him anymore.)
  4. NO ONE DYING. (Except maybe the King. Can that happen? Please?)

Well there’s my thoughts on the “Throne of Glass” series so far! Thanks for reading and see you next time!

Leave a Reply

