Book Talk- Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass Book #2)

Crown of Midnight

Finished: 7/10/15

SPOILERS FOR THE “THRONE OF GLASS” SERIES BEYOND THIS POINT

Celaena Sardothien is the king’s Champion–yet she is far from loyal to the crown, for the man she serves is bent on evil. But working against her master in secret is no easy task. As Celaena tries to untangle the mysteries buried within the glass castle, she can trust no one, not even her supposed allies Crown Prince Dorian, Captain of the Guard Chaol, and foreign princess Nehemia.
 Then, an unspeakable tragedy shatters Celaena’s world. She must decide once and for all where her loyalties lie . . . and whom she will fight for.

Well, guess who’s officially obsessed with the “Throne of Glass” series…

You know how before when I was talking about the “Legend” trilogy I said it’s always around the second book that I get deeply invested in a series? Well that definitely happened here. I mean, the first book in the series was amazing, but in this one we get to see more sides of the characters and more about this world and the way magic works, and there’s more action, and all around it was just really great to read. Even though it did COMPLETELY RIP OUT MY HEART WITH A FEW CERTAIN SCENES.

SPOILERS FOR “CROWN OF MIDNIGHT” AND THE “THRONE OF GLASS” SERIES BEYOND THIS POINT

One of my only problems with the first book is that there were a few slower parts and not a lot of action until around halfway through the book. But then in this one we hit the ground running. Celaena is working as the king’s champion, but she’s actually faking the deaths of the people she was sent to kill, which is simultaneously really cool and really dangerous. We really see more of Celaena in her element, and it gets you invested right away.

I still have absolutely no idea where I stand in regards to the Dorian-Celaena-Chaol love triangle. Actually, after the scene where Celaena and Chaol are guarding the ball and he asks her to dance I started leaning toward Celaena/Chaol hard. Especially through the next few scenes where they’re on the rooftop and when they spend the night together, like I could really see them making a good couple and supporting each other. But then certain things that I will get to later happened and I kind of started leaning away from that ship. And then later when she went to Dorian’s rooms and later when they fought that thing in the catacombs and learned about each other’s magic I started leaning towards Celaena/ Dorian. Honestly at this point I think I just ship everyone with being happy and not having their secrets discovered by the king.

I don’t know if this is just me, but during the ball scene I actually started shipping Dorian and Nehemia a little, at least platonically. It’s just that they both wanted so badly to act against the king but they feel powerless against him, and I can see them being this great ruling force together and reforming the country, but I guess obviously that isn’t going to happen now…

Also, I have officially accepted that I am entirely in love with Dorian Havilliard. To use complete fangirl tumblr terms, he is such a precious cinnamon roll, too good for this world, too pure. He just cares so much about Celaena, and wants to fix all the horrible things his father has done, and he’s such a good person in comparison to the majority of his family, and he loves dogs and reading and oh god, I am so attached to this character.

tumblr_inline_nik5fzziSv1qa8iie

We actually find out that Dorian has magic in this book, and I am so worried for him now. He doesn’t really know the extent of his magic or how to control it yet, and if he gets caught I have no doubt that his father will do horrible things to him, and I desperately do not want to see that happen…

Speaking of his father, I can indeed confirm that I completely hate the King. The way he threatens Celaena, and dismisses his son, and horribly oppresses every country that he’s conquered, among everything else he does is completely infuriating. It was somewhere around when he had the singer executed that I realized that I really hope we get to see this man meet his downfall sometime soon in this series.

tumblr_nhoqntCDqV1r00543o6_r1_250

So let’s cut straight to the chase now shall we…

I AM SO FREAKING UPSET OVER NEHEMIA’S DEATH. IT WAS SO HORRIBLE AND SAD AND I AM EMOTIONALLY DEVASTATED. WE ARE ONLY TWO BOOKS IN AND ONE OF THE BEST CHARACTERS HAS BEEN HORRIBLY MURDERED. I AM NOT OKAY!!!!! 

So yeah, I’m extremely sad that Nehemia was killed, especially since she knew it was going to happen. There was that chapter where she was talking with Queen Elena and we have this first hint of what’s going to happen, and you realize that she willingly became a martyr for her Eyllwe, and it’s so freaking sad because she gave literally everything, including her life, for her people and now she’ll never get to see them freed…excuse me, I’m going to go sob my eyes out now…

Glee1

There’s that whole part where she goes to find Chaol after he was kidnapped, and she realizes that Nehemia is going to be killed and runs back to the castle only to find her mutilated dead body, and it is so upsetting. And then she nearly kills Chaol and goes into a depressed state where she can’t even get out of bed and oh my god why is this book so disturbingly sad…

And then there’s the way she handled Grave when she figured out he assassinated Nehemia… In this book we see the full extent of what Celaena is capable of as an assassin and it is simultaneously awesome and terrifying. Like he was a terrible person and did mostly deserve it but the way she got information was so messed up…And then there’s that part where she bursts into the kings meeting unannounced and literally throws Grave’s head onto the table, and it’s so darn epic but also really disturbing and dangerous for Celaena and part of my mind is freaking out about how darn epic this scene is while the other part is just like:

nope Olaf

And another thing is that I really wanted to like Archer. I felt like he really had the potential to be an interesting side character, and could be a link to the rebels or something, but then we learn that he orchestrated Nehemia’s murder in the first place and then Celaena actually gives him the chance to lead but he feels the need to make some awful comment…Yeah, when Celaena killed him all I could think was:

he had it coming

So, changing the subject before I get overly emotional again, later in the book we find out about these things called Wyrdkeys, which unlock these portals to other worlds and hold an incredible amount of power, and that the King has at least one of them, which explains where he got a lot of his power. We also find out more about how Wyrdmarks are used, which leads to Celaena opening a portal to the afterlife to communicate with Nehemia…and all I can think is “Celaena, what are you doing? You are going to be that person on the first five minutes of a “Supernatural” episode. There is no way that opening a portal to speak to the dead can ever end well.”

And of course everything goes to Heck. I was so worried that someone was going to get trapped in the portal and either die or create a cliff hanger or something, but we do get this really cool scene and in the process we learn that Celaena is part fae, and has magic, so that’s going to create and interesting dynamic to say the least.

So let’s talk about the ending. We get another example of that thing fictional characters do where they don’t properly communicate and Chaol arranges for Celaena to be sent to kill the royal family of an opposing continent so she will be away from the king and can learn to use her magic from the fae who live there, and right before she leaves she tells Chaol that she is really Aelin Glathynius, the rightful heir of the kingdom…Yeah, you know how I said “Celaena Sardothien is literally my queen” in the last book talk? Well isn’t that beautifully ironic.

So that’s about it for my thoughts of “Crown of Midnight”. Like before I already bought and “Heir of Fire”, so I’ll share my thoughts on that soon! I hope we find out more on Celaena’s royal heritage, and that nothing too terrible happens to the characters I’m attached to (even though from what I’ve heard, it’s going to be an emotionally painful ride…). Thanks for reading and see you all next time for my thoughts on “Heir of Fire!”

 

Leave a Reply

